. . .

Friends of the Sheriff

You are currently browsing the Personal Safety category.

Spring Break DWI Enforcement

It is Spring Break time in East Texas! Having a time off from school and our everyday routine is a great thing, but it also needs to be a SAFE time for everyone as well. Cooperating with Law Enforcement all across Texas, the Hunt County Sheriff’s Office, in partnership with the Texas Department of Transportation, will be adding extra DWI enforcement.  This special enforcement will begin March 12th and continue through March 20th.  We will have additional Deputies on the street tasked only with locating and intercepting impaired drivers.

 

According to the TxDOT website, about every 20 minutes someone in Texas is hurt or killed in a crash involving alcohol.  A person in our state is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with DWI with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration). However, a person is also intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of their BAC. Whether you’re the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle. You can also be charged with child endangerment for driving while intoxicated if you’re carrying passengers younger than 15 years old. DWI with a child passenger is punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, up to two years in a state jail, and loss of your driver’s license for 180 days.

 

As always, please call 911 if you see what you believe to be an impaired driver.  Even though many times after checking out the driver, Deputies find them to be fine, it is not always so. Doing the right thing might actually save a life or prevent someone from having their life forever altered. The Hunt County Sheriff’s Office wants this year’s Spring Break, like every day in Hunt County, to be a safe and secure place for all of us. 

Posted 3 years, 6 months ago at 10:21 AM.

Add a comment